Keep the $ or Keep Believing in My Dream?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by sakura0072, Mar 6, 2007.

1. To start off , i have been trading Prop for 2 years since i finished college.

I have been profitable for 8 months and taking in consistently around $400 to $600 a day with maybe 1 down day a month .

The nature of the strategy and my income isn't anything to brag about , but its lucrative enough to keep me trading.

So what am i whining about ?

I have been eager to trade when i watch adults talked and bought stocks back in 2000 era. I was only 16 years old or so .

During my senior and junior years in college i was almost certain i would end up working for AIG or Edward Jones selling IRA or insurance product. I saw no other option to even remotely get in the business.

What completely change my path was the day i saw an AD from
    XXXXX TRADING , ran by the two famous brothers .

I was naive enough to believe in the concept of becoming a CLASS B member of a prop firm.
    However at the point it seemed logical to me to put up 25K
    ( no interview , no practical training ) .

Coming from avg family background , i had to do something i wasnt proud of to get my trading capital together .

Long story short , i did not make any money at XXXXX TRADING .
    I burned 2/3 of the $70,000 i brought w/ me to the firm , including living expenses .

what happened after that is i was fortunate enough to find another Prop firm with people that wanted to help me through the hard time . They taught me some different strategy , and backed me w/ almost no deposit till i became profitable .

Finally , after surviving from bleeding to death in my former Prop firm . Now i am making some money , enough for me to sit back and think about what i really want .

I have no complaints with the firm i trade w/ right now , but i do realize my scope is much bigger than just making some so called EASY MONEY .

I look at people around me, i wonder why they trade ?