Just starting out...choosing broker

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by bbb2, Feb 28, 2004.

1. bbb2

bbb2

Hi,

Im 19 and just beginning investing. What broker would you suggest me?
    I thought about interactivebrokers.com, but im not sure.
    I have $2000 to start with.

2. What r u going to trade with 2000?

stocks? PDT rule will apply

futures? undercapitalized

I would probably swingtrade some etf's.

PS: with IB, in order to open an account or to open new positions in an account, you must have the following minimum account equity (cash and securities): usd 2000.
    So I would say, you need at least 2500 -3000 to be a little bit comfortable.

3. Read "New Traders Thread"

4. IB is a good broker, but not for a complete newbie. They are efficient and cheap, but they won't hold your hand and teach you how things work.

I would get some experience with a full service discount broker first, then switch to IB.

Also, if you wish to trade pit commodities, IB won't work (electronic only).

Jay

5. with $2,000 you are so very limited. your just not going to be able to do much. futures are out of the question with less than $5,000. stick with someone simple like scotttrade. be aware lots of brokers in stocks have an inactivity fee.

6. bbb2

bbb2

Thank you for your replys.
    Althouht $2000 isnt a lot, i can add atleast $700 / month.

>> Also, if you wish to trade pit commodities, IB won't work (electronic only).

This might be a stupid question, but what are commodities, are they some sort of stocks?

>> be aware lots of brokers in stocks have an inactivity fee.

I keep that in mind.

>>PDT rule will apply

What is PDT rule?

7. commodities are the futures markets like big and emini s&p, nasdaq futures, bonds all the grains, hogs the list goes on and on as oppossed to equities (stocks).

also since you small size, you wouldn't be able to day trade stocks/equities.

8. Idoogye

Idoogye