Just started out, needing input!

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by Ifitis, May 3, 2020.

1. Ifitis

Ifitis

I started Trading again in March, Day Trading in April of this year. I Day Traded over 10 years ago for a bit, but real life did not allow much time for it. I have traded some in my IRA over the years.

Being at home, and taking care of my 86 year old mother who has health issues, I was looking for something to do. I liked trading for myself when I did it, so I decided to try it. I researched on the internet and have read some books, Trading in the Zone, Short Term Trading in the New Stock Market, and The Logical Trader.

I decided to start an LLC in North Carolina where I reside. It seemed this would protect me and the Trading business, as well as make it easier to claim Trader Status. This was formed via filling out the application on the NC Secretary of State site, and paying the filing fees. I have amended the filing with a letter of Resolution for Mark to Market Accounting, and an LLC Operating Agreement stating the business was created to Actively Trade Equities for the purpose of profiting from the short term price fluctuations of the equity prices. This will be a pass through company using my SS#.

I filed a statement with the IRS before April 25th of this year, stating that I am making an election under section 475(f), for tax year 2020, for Mark to Market Accounting. I did this as I traded a bit before the LLC was ready.

I am using Fidelity and using Active Trader Pro for trading currently. I started day trading again around mid April in my Personal account there, and transferred all money to an LLC Business Account at Fidelity after I got the Approved paperwork on the LLC form the State. I also started a new business bank account for the LLC locally.

I am started out slowly, though working many hours a day to begin with, making on average about $250.00 US per day.