Just another journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by BlueDiamond, Jul 4, 2009.

1. This may be just another typical journal in ET. I started trading the ES with a $5000 account from the start of the year and by Feb it dropped by more than 60%.

So I have been paper trading since then, gradually realizing the numerous mistakes I was making, made many changes, and now I feel as if I'm ready to trade live again.

One of the reasons for starting this journal is to learn more about myself by posting my trades. Sometimes, I still lack the discipline required and enter trades without the proper setup.

After the earlier losses, there is about $1800 remaining in the account, and the immediate target is to reach $3000. Which is about 26 points away. On the other hand, the account will be closed if it drops below $1000.

I have no idea how this will turn out. In the worst case, the account will be blown out with 10 consecutive losses, putting a quick end to all this.

2. +$31

Today I got into a good mood! Perhaps this averted the losses.

Anyway, managed to get 3 ticks from 1 trade today. Shorted around 884, exit when support was too strong and the time limit was reached. Though it's only 3 ticks, I'm glad it's a positive start.

3. +$50

No trades yesterday.

Today is another range bound day in the morning. In view of that, any profit is good for me.

First trade was a loss of 1 point, going long around 882. Since the resistance was not yet broken when the trade was made, this has to be a mistake.

Second trade, +2.25 points, short around 875. Missed the earlier entry due to anxiety. The transition from sim to live is not easy. It's like the difference between shooting practice and taking three pointers in the fourth quarter of a real game.

4. No live trading yesterday due to connection issues. Paper traded horribly.

Today is another day with the index lingering within a few points of the open. Only one breakeven trade as the dow refused to move below 8100.