just a thought

Discussion in 'Options' started by ace123, May 29, 2004.

1. ace123

ace123

Actually i am an amateur trader, who tries to find an edge in trding options and is constantly trying to find new, better ways of trading.

It just happened in my mind a thought, that i would like to share to the board. And I welcome everyone that would like to share his points of view about this trading tecnique.

This trading tecnique consist in combining two trading stiles.

Lets assume that you trade stocks and you apply trend trading.

Well in this situations, as i know, the stock is about 80% the time in a sideways and only 20% in some trend. So you could(theoreticaly speaking) loose money 80% of the time, and would earn money 20% of the time.

Now lets assume that you are trading only options.

Well in this situation, you can apply many different strategies...but lets assume that you could be Long Gamma or Short Gamma.

Well if you are LONG, then(theoretically and statistically speaking) you would loose money 80% of the time and earn BIG money 20% of the time.

If you are SHORT, then(again theoretically and statistically speaking) you would earn 80% of the time and loose BIG money 20% of the time.

Well i am asking myself. How can i apply a SHORT gamma trade and reduce at minimum the risk to loose BIG money?

It happened to my mind, that i can combine stock trading and option trading in this way, but i am not sure if it would actually work. If there is someone who is expert in trading that would give an opinion, I(and many others) would appreciate it very much:

Assume that we are trading very volatile stocks(with some news or something to be expected). wait the news to come and in the same day(when volatility is stil high enough to capture a good credit) apply a short gamma trade like(short strangle, short stradle, short butterfly,....) for a month or two.

Well now in this situation we have two breakpoints and two risk zones.