Jury Duty

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by JangoFolly, Feb 21, 2007.

1. I just got called up for jury duty. I am a professional trader and I was curious how other professional traders have handled this particular obstacle to earning a living. Any thoughts/advice for getting excused?

Thanks.

2. I got a letter for jury duty and filled out the exemption form and I got the exemption.

3. check the county. usually they have a hardship exemption and a letter will often get you out.

4. katesdp

katesdp

Wear Plaid.

5. BSAM

BSAM

Here's the best way, IMO. Go on down, then when the lawyers start talking to you, just strongly state your opinion. Your opinion will match one side or the other. You are certain to be struck from the jury panel.

Like if it's a car accident case, if you believe in no fault insurance, tell them. If it's a capital murder case and you don't believe in the death penalty, let them know. If it's a theft case tell them "everybody" has stolen something in their life. They don't want to hear these things.

Lawyers can't handle these type of answers. They want people who are easily manipulated and who are not independent thinkers. If you represent yourself in such a way as to let them know that your opinions will not be swayed, there's no way they want you on the jury. I mean, one side will, but not the other one.

6. Surdo

Surdo

Throw it in the garbage, you won't be asked for another 6 months, that works about 3 or 4 times.

7. ElCubano

ElCubano

exactly

8. BSAM

BSAM

This is really bad advice.

9. newtoet

newtoet

Here is an idea - go serve. It is your civic duty.