Journey to develop a system and an edge

Discussion in 'Journals' started by TraderStavros, Dec 20, 2007.

1. Background: Despite my moniker I am not much of a Trader currently. I used to be a trader for a passive investment management company and as such was more of a facilitation gig than applying any of the most important principles to active trading. Prior to this year I did a handful of speculative trades a year and were driven mostly by tertiary fundamental analysis and an extremely light technical view. I began actively trading stocks recently and have had some relatively good successes but much larger lessons. I found that I was most comfortable when I was trading intraday but due to capital restraints quickly discovered the pattern day trader rule. I began to swing trade but used to wide of stops and in this choppy market my winners turned into losers and everything got stopped on my already wide stops. The futures markets have always interested me and I believe it is the best suited for my risk profile and trading goals.

I work full-time in a salaried position which at this time does not require much attention. I have a lot of idle time so being able to trade during market hours will not be an issue.

I have my Bachelors in Finance and an MBA. I would be still working in the Investment Management field if the option to move out of state were on the table but due to family constraints it is not. I chose to switch my focus and moved into the Corporate realm. I am a Strategic Analyst for the President of a regional Energy firm. While I don't believe that education = success I think it's important to point out that I am not a gun-slinging poker player looking for his next fix or an overly-creative engineer looking to create the perfect system to make an ATM. (no offense to either of those who are reading this)