Journal Questions

Discussion in 'Trading' started by flyboy, Jan 7, 2003.

1. flyboy

flyboy

I am new to ET, but have not seen a good description or discussion of what constitutes a good Journal.

I would like to see what people think a Journal should consist of.

Since I hope to be trading in the next couple of months, I would like to start doing a small amount of papertrading my developing methodology, but want to make sure the items I track are usefull.

I think I need more than just the Entry/Exit and Profit/Loss information.

So my questions to this list are....

1. What should I be recording in a journal?
    2. What should I be using to record my journal? (Word, Excel, live list like this, or other software?)
    3. How do you evaluate your Journal?

Thanks in advance.

2. dbphoenix

dbphoenix

Depends on your reasons for posting the journal and what you hope to get out of it. If you're looking for help, or at least helpful comments, it will be necessary for you to be at least somewhat specific about your plan. Otherwise, if your results are consistently positive, nobody will believe them, which is understandable since so many traders so often lie to themselves.

On the other hand, if your results are unsatisfactory, nobody will be able to help you because they won't know what you're doing. This leads to the same old same old: the same old quotes pulled out of the same old books, the same old tired advice, the same old shotgun approach to giving "help".

If you can be specific about what you're doing and why, you will very likely get a lot of sound advice. Otherwise, you may just be wasting your time.

--Db

3. This is what I'd do if I was going to start a journal.

First, get a screen capture utility. You can get one free Here, and post charts of your trades.

Second, disclose your method exactly. If you feel your method
    is unique and you don't want to tell anybody, you're probably
    not gonna get much help.