Joel Greenblatt's Magic Formula?

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by luag, Dec 15, 2005.

1. luag

luag

Hi, I'm very new in this investing world.

Upon my research on the net to find books i should read, i stumbled on Joel Greenblatt's "The Little Book That Beats the Market". This books seems to be very simple, basically explaining screening method he uses to pick stocks (high ROIC, high earnings yield) He even put a currently free website to pick the companies that reflects on his method at http://magicformulainvesting.com/book.do

Can investing be really this simple?

Can someone please enlighten me about this subject? :) thank you in advance.

quote from the website:
    " Two years in MBA school won't teach you how to double the market's return. Two hours with The Little Book That Beats the Market will. Let Joel Greenblatt, Founder and Managing Partner at Gotham Capital (with average annualized returns of 40% for over 20 years) show you how "beating the market" can be made simple and easy.

The Little Book does more than simply set out the basic principles for successful stock market investing, it provides a "magic formula" that is easy to use and makes buying good companies at bargain prices automatic. Though the formula has been extensively tested and is a clear breakthrough in the academic and professional world, the common sense method is convincingly explained using 6th grade math skills, plain language and humor. Readers will learn how to use this low risk method to beat the market and professional managers by a wide margin. Along the way, readers will also learn: how to view the stock market; why success eludes almost all individual and professional investors; and why the formula will continue to work even after everyone "knows" it."