Joe Ross seminars

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by Mvic, Jul 6, 2003.

1. Mvic

Mvic

Hello all:

I have been trading for a couple of months now and am stuck getting past about $500 a day. I usually make $1000-$1500 on a few trades within the hour before and hour after open and then lose much of it during the day and maybe recoup some near the close. My emphasis is on learning to trade rather than making money at the moment which is why I try and trade all day long and don't just quit while I am ahead in the am (after reading Pit Bull I almost feel that I have to put in the hours). I am trading mostly e-minis (es usually 5 contracts), 30 yr. bonds ( US 1 contract) and some stocks (mostly AMZN 2-5K).

Right now I am trading a sort of simple system using 1 minute and 5 minute time frame with moving average crossover, stochacstics, MACD, and a little discretion. To say that it is rudimentary and unoptimized would be an understatement. Most of the time I lose money because I try and anticipate the signals. What I have going for me is that I cut losses very quickly and let profits run (I never look at my P&L when in a trade, only price). I have ton of reading left to do and am trying to figure out how wealth labs works so that I can do some back testing. Been reading "Candlestick charting explained" this weekend to see if I can incorporate Candlestick charts in to the mix.