Jasper's Last Stand

Discussion in 'Journals' started by jasper6, Jan 2, 2007.

1. jasper6

jasper6

I have been trading since the year 2000.

My introduction to the market was in selling a vertical industry website to a NASDAQ traded company in June, 1999. I received cash and restricted stock - about 50/50. At the time of the sale, the stock was trading just above $20. From June 1999 to March 2000, the stock hit a high of $143. On paper, my net worth topped out at over $2,000,000.

Not knowing anything about the stock market, I couldn't believe how much money could be made! Too bad my main experience in hindsight was at the top of a bubble. Since I didn't know what a costless collar was and didn't protect myself, I didn't sell out until over a million of the paper profits had evaporated (still hurts to think about).

I was hooked on the market, though. When my consulting agreement ran out at the end of 2000, I spent a year reading about 50 books on trading. The beginning of my search for the holy grail.

I started daytrading tech stocks in the Autumn of 2001 and promptly lost $30,000.

I switched to the ES after a year or two and paid even more tuition. When the ER2 came out, I started to trade it since I liked the daily range, the extended moves and (at the time) the lower noise level.

I am now five years down the road and am pretty much a breakeven trader. I still trade one lots. I have studied every indicator and system known to mankind. None of them seem to have worked very well. They are mostly great when the market trends and horrible when it chops.

I have suffered from "triggeritis" on occasion - sometimes lasting for months. I have read "Trading in the Zone" countless times and have the Five Fundamental Truths tacked to the wall.