January Natural Gas Contract

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by spb001, Dec 7, 2009.

1. spb001

spb001

Hello everyone. I am very new to trading so bear with me. I started paper trading a few days ago and today was the best day by far. Before I go further I'll tell you a little about myself and post my paper trading data.

I am a petroleum engineer that just graduated this year. I am working in the Appalachian Basin specifically in the Marcellus Shale.

Trading Data
    Balance
    $2,592.00

Profit/Loss
    $1,210.00

% Change
    7.93%

Margined Amount
    $13,598.00

Maintenance Amount
    $7,250.00

% of Account Margined
    83.99%

% of Account Maintenanced
    44.78%

I've been doing non-stop research in commodity trading, and have not been able to find some key info.

1. How does margin and leverage work and what are the equations involved?

2. I lost several thousand dollars the 1st few days, but when I made the profit today I had increased my total account worth from 15000 to 16210 dollars. How did I make up the losses of the previous days plus increase my initial account total if I only made 1210 dollars in profit? I am very confused about that.

3. If anyone can mention books, sites, etc that could give me useful knowledge to help me with understanding commodity trading terms, technical analysis, and other stuff; I would be grateful.

Regards,

Sam

2. 1) Texas Tech? LSU?.....Margins are generally a function of contract value and price volatility. Leverage is equal to the contract value divided by the initial margin.