January contract expires before January??

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by isaac000, Nov 21, 2006.

1. I have long HOF7(January 2007 Heating Oil) positions, and I was always thinking I don't need to close my positions until January 2007, for tax consideration. Now I Just noticed the detail for HOF7(January 2007 Heating Oil) contract:

Expiration Date 20061229
    First Notice Date 20070102
    First Position Date 20070102
    Last Trading Date 20061229

It looks like the last trading day of Jan07 HO contract is before the year end. Does that mean I have to close my HOF7 contract by the end of this year? I am new to futures. Any reply is appreciated.

2. Is there any way I can close these positions after Jan.1 2007 so I can post my gain for the 2007 tax year? Anyone?

3. Sure, you can take delivery. Otherwise, Last Trade Date is the Last Trade Date.

If you're using IB, they'll close the position out for you if you don't do it yourself. Also, the liquidity in the front month is going to really evaporate right before expiration, and you probably don't want to be stuck holding a futures contract when the spread goes to 1.60bid/2.00ask. :)

4. JayS

JayS

Since gains/losses are marked-to-market with futures & commodities why does this matter?

5. Like I said I am new to futures trading. This may be a stupid question: what do you mean by "marked-to-market"?

6. Think of it like cash, rather than accrual, accounting.

If you own an ES contract and it goes up 1 point, at the end of the day, you are paid $50. The next day, you're starting with a completely clean slate. If it goes down 1 point, you pay $50. All of this is settled at the end of each and every day.

7. I have searched on google for "Marked-to-Market", "m2m", mtm"....etc. Now I start to understand it. But it seems that if I didn't elect mtm before April 15th, I don't have a mtm status. so the mtm rule would not apply. Am I right?

8. Surdo

Surdo