Jake Berstein

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by UNLV_TJ, Sep 10, 2007.

1. UNLV_TJ

UNLV_TJ

I did not see any of this books mentioned in the Book section of this forum.

Does anyone have any opinions on his book or his MOM/MA trading methods?

Thanks! :cool:

2. lindq

lindq

In one word: junk

3. dtan1e

dtan1e

i rem reading on ET someone called him a charlatan, can't find it now, grouping him /w all the book sellers

4. UNLV_TJ

UNLV_TJ

Were do you go as a beginner to begin learning correctly?

I have read quite a few books, and now I can tell when some are basically junk and others at least have some substance.

Thanks!

5. It is my understanding that Mr. Berstein does not trade because his past attempts to do so have not fared very well. I am not aware of any subsequent evidence to suggest otherwise. I hope that answers your question.

6. I'd say Jake Bernstein is stay away. When I was a complete newbie I bought a couple of his books and came away fairly impressed. The important word here is newbie. In retrospect it was a waste of time and money. Trading is not as easy as he's making it out to be - there's no holy grail or sure-fire method using an indicator or two.

7. lindq

lindq

Regarding books, I would recommend two:

Trading for a Living, By Alexander Elder

Techniques of Tape Reading, by Chris Schumacher & Vadym Graifer

The first will give you a good feel for longer term timeframes and overall strategy. The second focuses more on short term price action and some good discussions of entry.

Any further information you need to get started you can find on the internet, and in spending a lot of time searching this site. (for background, not for advice!)

There are no shortcuts or 'secrets' to success you are going to find in your reading. Use it all as background to develop your own approach, based on logic, your personality, and your resources.

Good luck.

8. UNLV_TJ

UNLV_TJ

Thank you!