J-trader Demo

Discussion in 'Trading' started by larrybf, Oct 23, 2001.

1. I recently downloaded the j-trader demo and tried using it . I found it very"big and clumsy" compared to IB platform. I am an intraday nq trader using only limit and stop orders . NOTHING FANCY. for those people familiar with jtrader will it be an improvement over what I use now(IB)? Thank you.

2. tymjr

tymjr

larrybf: "will it (J-Trader) be an improvement over what I use now(IB)?"

I have access to both platforms. I prefer J-Trader but I understand how you'd feel that it could be "big and clumsy". It does take up too much space.

The bottom line is that I've had far too many problems with IB's TWS and I've not had the same issues (lagging quotes, hung orders, or no fills) with the J-Trader platform. To fair, though, J-Trader has frozen a few times. IB seems to lock up less.

Overall, J-Trader performs much more reliably and effectively, IMHO.

3. Tymjr- can the trading screen be resized and adjusted for j-trader. I didnt try to change any of the settings. i forgot to try.

4. tymjr

tymjr

larrybf: "can the trading screen be resized and adjusted?"

Yup. The only things I haven't been able to resize are the login and DOM windows.

5. Tymjr- THANKS MUCHO. Any recomendations for a jtrader broker?

6. tymjr

tymjr

larrybf: "Any recomendations for a jtrader broker?"

Not really. Most of my Mini trading is done through PMB, right now, though.

7. tymjr

tymjr

I failed to mention that, according to a tech I’ve spoken with, J-Trader is connected directly to Globex2 via the FIX API while IB's TWS is not directly connected. This may not be accurate but it certainly syncs up with my experiences with IB’s platform. How much those milliseconds affect your trading or whether this is true, on a broker-by-broker basis, I cannot say. I would recommend you check out this issue for yourself, though.