IWM Options to ER2 ?'s

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by rmmsmh, Dec 31, 2007.

1. rmmsmh

rmmsmh

Hello,

I have been trading for several years and this last year traded options on the IWM exclusively. I had a good year and have netted about 57 points on the IWM options with an average of about 10 contracts. My problem is with my system and account size of only $50,000 I have averaged a Delta of only 55% trading options on the IWM. Thus I would like to trade the ER2 this year and just want to check my math to make sure I understand how the ER2 compares to the IWM. So here goes.

1 option on IWM = 100sh x 76.50 = $7,650

10 options on IWM = 1000sh x 76.50 = $76,500

1 ER2 contract = $100 x 765.00 = 76,500

so 1 ER2 contract = 10 options on the IWM, correct?

If I trade the ER2 same as I traded the options on IWM my delta will be 1.00 rather than .55 so it makes sense to me to switch. Am I missing anything here or does it make sense to you guys as well? Thanks for your input.

Bob

2. jj90

jj90

Depends on what the delta for the IWM options are :

1 ER2 = 100 delta + or -

match that with the delta of the options you were trading for the 1 strike

multiply number of contracts to reach closest multiple of 100

Eg. you were trading ATMs on IWM with 50 delta.

2 ATMs = 1 ER. 50 x 2 = 100.

Another example : you were trading OTMs with a delta of 10.

10 OTMs (at that strike). = 1 ER. 10 x 10 = 100.

If you were trading of a arbitrary lot number, eg. 10 lots of options, then multiply (delta) x (# of contracts) and round to nearest 100 to get your position delta, which divided by 100 would give you # of ERs needed.

3. rmmsmh

rmmsmh

Ok, I see what you are saying. From my example above it should be:

20 options on IWM with a delta of .50 = 2000sh x 76.50 x .50 = $76,500

1 ER2 contract = $100 x 765.00 = 76,500

so 1 ER2 contract = 20 options on the IWM with a delta of .50 as an equivalent trade.