It seems all the pros use Price Analysis and Noobies use Technical Indicators

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by sneakoner, May 29, 2011.

1. Is this true?

When I say price analysis I'm referring to candlestick charting like ascending triangles, double tops, etc.

Technical indicators include MACD Histograms, Stochastics, etc.

Is this because price analysis is better at predicting future price movements whereas technical indicators lag the price?

Also I believe there is tape reading which involves bid/ask/order etc (I'm not too familiar with this although it did come up alot on Reminiscence of a Stock Operator).

Am I missing anything else?

I'm a newbie in case you didn't realize by now :p

2. kut2k2

kut2k2

Yeah, the PA guys are always putting down technical indicators.

I'm a technical analyst but I'm the first to admit that most technical indicators are crap. They don't work well, if they ever did, so you have to have the mathematical savvy to move beyond the conventional stuff into things that you designed yourself. That way, you understand your tools intimately to a degree that you can't achieve by just applying some "recipe" from a TA book or a trading book. Some good things have been revealed in books but, trading being the competitive field it is, don't count on a lot of people pointing out for you exactly what works and what doesn't work for them. Also keep in mind that a "standard" tool which fails in a conventional fashion might just turn out to be great if you apply it unconventionally. It really does help to be creative and persistent in this field.