Is this track record good enough to attract new capital

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by newtraderg, May 25, 2011.

1. Folks,

I see lot of encouraging posts about people starting their own hedge fund or atleast managing friends and families money.

I have been trading full time for almost 3 years now. I trade mainly FX and commodities-

Here is my month by month performance since July 2008-
    2008-
    6.81%, 6.41%, 0.31%, 21.66%, 4.04%, 2.58%
    2009-
    0.09%, 6.03%, -1.3%, 5.05%, 9.28%, -0.01%, 3.89%, -2.75%, 22.77%, 56.82%, 37.54%, 13.88%
    2010-
    -8.43%, 2.76%, 12.86%, 0.86%, 26.06%, 1.23%, -20.45%, 1.84%, 11.64%, 1.72%, 7.71%, 13.88%
    2011-
    1.48%, -4.42%, -2.00%, 31.97%

All the returns are calculated on the starting capital at the beginning of the month adjusted for any withdrawals

My starting capital was 100% personal line of credit that I used(I know thats a total no no when it comes to trading, but that was the only source of money I had)

I have been withdrawing money periodically to payoff the line of credit, pay living expenses for my family(this is my only means of income) and pay taxes. As, a result my account growth hasnt compounded as much.

My question is if I get these results audited, are they any good to attract outside capital

2. Folks,

Would really appreciate any comments.

Just wanna get an idea if the returns are any good before I start approaching some people for funding. I dont wanna get my hopes up for no reason.

Thanks

3. daveyc

daveyc

I hope you can make it big time and you probably will but what happened with 2010 a -20% month. ouch! Yes I see the big months too but that loss has to get some attention. Have you made any risk management change to avoid a month like that again? Anyways, good luck.

4. lazar206

lazar206

What’s your account size? 2 million account size would carry much more weight then a 25k size…

5. [​IMG]

34 months
    270%

that looks promising