Is this possible and probable?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by themickey, Jul 2, 2018.

1. themickey

themickey

As a stock trader I have long suspected (but I could be wrong) that smart money have a way to drive down prices somehow, while at the same time without any trace are scooping them up.
    Is this highly likely or am I dreaming conspiracy theories?
    Can those in the know make a comment.
    The reason for commenting, often I see volume remarkably increasing prior to bottoms.
    Now for uninformed traders this gives the impression of capitulation when in actual fact it is the opposite in terms of, stock is being gobbled up asap.
    Any hints on how to spot insto's interest within intraday price action or does dumb money (me the retail trader) not have the correct tools available?

2. sle

sle

Well, do the following mental study. Does volume increase more when stock is close to it's bottom or does it equally increase in other cases (e.g. when the stock is about to leg further)? You null hypothesis is that volume correlates with volatility, and volatility increases when the stock or the index is declining. Your hypothesis is that spikes in volume predict reversals with some degree of confidence. It's a very straight forward study to do :)

3. themickey

themickey

I'm not looking at volatility as such, ie I don't bother measuring this in the normal sense, but my interest is aroused when I see sharp bounces, what I'm attempting to do (might be impossible) is determine on pullbacks, which pullback is just resting of the stock versus which pullback is insto driven on purpose, ie deliberately driven down in order to buy cheaper.
    Therefore my query is, can a trader ascertain an insto driven down stock because they want a bigger bite.
    Again, I may be dreaming on this, just wanted your opinions.
    Maybe impossible to determine deliberately driven down stocks...?
    Thx muchly. :)

4. jinxu

jinxu