[is this normal?] price completely retraced the US NFP & US unemployment news candle

Discussion in 'Forex' started by kiuri, Sep 1, 2017.

1. kiuri

kiuri

Hey guys,

Noob here. :)

As usual, price broke out when the NFP and unemployment numbers were released today. But on the 5-minute charts of several major currency pairs, price retraced completely within a few bars.

Does this occur often? I do understand that NFP and unemployment are "just" fundamental news numbers (albeit important ones..if not the most important ones) and, as such, usually won't be able to change the trajectory or momentum of a currency pair on their own. Still I was very surprised to see the market "disregarding" them as much as they did.

=>No continuation at all.

I know I can just check form NFP & unemployment dates, but I would like to have your opinion & view/take/ experience on this.

Two examples from today's NFP (5 min bars). Both times, the news candle was retraced quickly.

EURUSD

1.JPG

USDJPY

2.JPG

2. It is normal. It's called a market.
    Looks like you just read that if news are bad for dollar - eur/usd goes up, if news are good - it goes down. And it didn't happened.
    If that would be so simple - I would trade news releases only with max leverage. Easy money :)

3. There was other data that came out after NFP (ISM)... Moreover, as the mkt digested the NFP numbers, they turned out to be not all that terrible (a lot of seasonal distortions likely).

4. kiuri

kiuri

Thanks guys for your responses. Will keep this humbling experience in mind, very naive of me. :)

5. Actually, the NFP report was extremely shitty because not withstanding august, it also removed 41K jobs from the previous two reports.
    The ISM only came in much later.