Is this execution time for market orders acceptable?

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by ArcticTrader, Jul 18, 2006.

1. ArcticTrader

ArcticTrader Guest

Hey there...

I am just wondering since I am new to direct access trading, whether it is acceptable for my software platform (in this case CyberTrader) to take up to 5 seconds to fill a market order. I trade remote prop at home, so I don't know if that has anything to do with it.

Sometimes I place a market order and I can see it placing and cancelling orders at subsequently lower (or higher) prices as it tries to "catch" the market while it's moving, usually with the result that I get filled something like 5 cents away from whatever the bid/ask was showing on my screen when I pressed the key. (Actually, I normally get filled right when the market stops moving, which is usually the exact wrong place for a fill.) This is on a relatively medium-speed stock like AAPL or MRVL, I haven't even tried it on crazy movers like GOOG (nor will I).

Anyways, I was just wondering for those of you that trade at home, whether this is a function of my software, my broker, or the fact that I trade at home? (I have a decent high-speed connection.) Since I don't tend to scalp too much it hasn't affected me hugely, but it would be nice to be able to have truly "instant" execution... this type of thing makes it very hard to get out quickly if I pick the wrong direction...

Thanks!

2. mnx

mnx

5 secs is too long for a market order on a nasdaq stock (unless it's at the open or close in which case mkt orders to sumo have been quite slow in the past...)

I'd try demoing another platform and see if it's any faster... it probably will be...

mnx

3. zzzap

zzzap

4. qazmax

qazmax