Is this excel spreadsheet I built on SPY ETF hedging vs. e-mini futures hedging correct?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by axpaxp, Apr 13, 2020.

1. axpaxp

axpaxp

I'm trying to hedge a long-only equity portfolio that I've also levered through margin by either short selling the SPY ETF or selling e-mini futures contracts (looking at ESM0). I'm avoiding options as a hedging strategy for now because premiums are very expensive given where implied vol is today -- the time for options was 2 months ago, not today.

I've built this quick scenario analysis to help me think through risk. The biggest risk I want to avoid is a margin call in a -50% S&P500 environment.

Can someone tell me if my scenario analysis here is right, and I'm understanding hedging w/ futures vs. SPY ETF correctly?

It's my first time trading futures so apologies if some of my statements/questions below are noobish:

Here are the parameters I used in the spreadsheet if its not clear (numbers are just examples):

A) Initial equity of $1.5mm, used to buy equities

B) Margin of $900k used to buy equities if short selling SPY ETF, Margin of $980k used to buy equities if using futures to hedge

C) Hedge of -$550k either by short selling $550k of SPY ETF or selling futures contracts to approximate that amount (notional)

D) In the case of futures for hedging, I'm "paying" for the 10% cash collateral my broker requires using margin (hence it being under liabilities)

E) My scenario analysis assumes that the S&P500 is down 50%, and my portfolio is down 53% (slight negative alpha).

You can toggle between short selling and futures in cell D3.

Quick questions: