Is this a viable Iron Condor Strategy

Discussion in 'Options' started by shainadir, Jul 17, 2009.

1. I am new to options and have had some success with iron condors the past few months. I usually pick my ICs with the puts and calls with gammas at .10. Today, I had to close out the call sides for my Aug SPX because they were getting a little too close for comfort. I still have the puts.

This got me thinking about future iron condors. How viable is a strategy where the puts and calls are at higher gammas around .30-.35 with higher credit. If im out of the money on both sides at expiration, then I will earn more with the higher credit. If the strike gets closer to either side, I will close the side that it nears and will have a good chance that the other side will expire otm.

I am work now so I dont have a chance to backtest this but is this a viable strategy or am I just thinking out of my ass?

2. There has been much debate on ET over the years about the viability of trading CTM (closer to the money) IV vs. OTM (further out of the money options).

To me the winners of the debate are those who favor CTM positions. But in real life, I ignore that debate and prefer OTM options.

There is always a trade-off. Gain something, give up something else.

The major argument in favor of CTM iron condors is that you collect a high credit. That, in turns, reduces the maximum loss. That's obviously good. But, there is an increased likelihood that one of the spreads will finish ITM.

Thus do you prefer less risk (per spread) coupled with an increased probability of incurring a loss?

Or do you prefer a smaller reward, along with a higher probability of earning that reward?

Then there's also the adjustment problem. When losses are smaller, do you adjust a risky position less frequently? Or perhaps you don't adjust at all. This is an individual decision, but one that is important to your overall results.