is this a prop firm?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by sakhter, Jul 21, 2009.

1. sakhter

sakhter

I am sure this topic has been discussed before on ET. But I have a few particular questions and would appreciate any response.

I am an individual trader, never traded at a prop firm, I have a B.S. in Financial Mathematics. So I apologize ahead of time for my lack of knowledge in this area.

So here is the situation:

A few friends of mine were interested in pooling funds together and starting a boutique trading firm to trade our own strategies

We don't plan to be a broker-dealer, we are planning to trade on a retail platform.

We are interested in taking in new traders, but we don't plan on hiring them. It's like a independent role.

Our plan is basically to offer our recommendations to traders for a monthly fee in a classroom setting. The information will ONLY be offered on-site, no remote trading. & No deposit. We are actually looking into office space in the NYC-Metro area.

Monthly fee would also allow trader to trade firm capital with 50% payout.

Is this a prop firm?

Do we need to directly HIRE individuals in order for them to trade firm capital?

Are there other firms that follow a similar model?

Let me know,

Shawn

2. You will be a prop/arcade shop. You should put some business structure in place to protect yourself from any risk/liabilities on your personal assets that may arise during the course of business operations. This is especially necessary for having new hires with unknown trading ability.

LLC/LLP should be a good start.