Is this a good strategy for volatility?

Discussion in 'Options' started by enriquep, Jul 13, 2018.

1. enriquep

enriquep

This is the current price chart for CISCO in 5min candles:

[​IMG]

The fall was because Amazon said will probably sell network equipment.
    When we get news and movements like this (look at the first 5min candle, is huge compared to the others, and in volumen too), there is a really high chance to get a big volatility on the next 1 hour at least.

Is possible to create some strategy with options for special situations like this one?
    I'm very new in options, so I'm not sure if is possible to buy/sell them so quickly, or if the prices for options changes dramatically on the first 5min and is not possible to take advantage of this volatility?

What do you think?

2. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

The word of the day is, Butterfly.

Whether iron, call-only, or put-only -- there are different flavor subtleties that have whole websites written around them.

But if you have strong reason to believe that this is not a stable price, a butterfly squeezes in on the (target) price.

SmallFry and El OchoCinco like this.
  3. enriquep

enriquep

My question is more about how possible is to take advantage of situations like this with options.
    Because this occurs "really fast". The candles are 5min, and the strong volatility dissapear after 1 or 2 hours.

Is possible to operate with options at this speed?
    I mean is possible to buy the options right after the first 5min huge red bar, and then close/sell them 1 hour after? or we will find a lot of problems trying to do that? for example liquidity or maybe the premium is really high?

I mean what are the possible problems with a butterfly (or a long straddle) in a situation like this one?

4. As tommpointed out, when vols spike, FLYS are the best way to try and profit from possible range and vols coming back in a bit. When vols have mini spikes the FLYS get relatively cheaper.