Is there anyone here who is self-taught, consistently profitable and confident of continued success?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by with interest, Apr 13, 2019.

1. By consistently profitable I mean a track record of 3+ years with profits of at least $50k per year.

As you can probably guess, I'm interested in getting into this. It would be great to hear back from those who have proven profitable retail trading is possible.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2019
  2. destriero

destriero

Yeah, sure. I trade for a family office but essentially retail in my mIRA. I had my best year ever.

3. tango29

tango29

Year 16 of full time as of April 3. Have adapted and rewrote, and added to a trading plan a few times. The last 2 years I am hitting the wall of boredom. I may transition more of the day trading account to long term money and more or less retire from the day trading. Main problem is what I want to do instead of trading at this point.

4. m1nt

m1nt

I'm pretty sure that everything I was "taught" is now unsuccessful. it is undeniable that that the people I worked for many, many years ago have made many millions of dollars in commissions, trading profits long ago and hedge fund fees.

5. 20+ years retail also a couple years prop.
    Constantly trying to adapt and improve.
    It’s a marathon not a sprint.
    Take your small losses and move on. There’s always another winning trade.

6. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks

Yup. Bought my first stock when I was in my low-teens. Was an "investment banker" with a penny stock firm until '90. Worked my way to assistant trader on OTC trading desk at that firm. Self taught futures trading from that point. Converted apartment closet into a desk/office for part-time learning, while holding a high salary IT "job". Full time independent futures trader since 2004/5.

7. Overnight

Overnight