Is the retail daytrader an endangered species?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Darshan, Aug 21, 2008.

1. Darshan

Darshan

With the advent of algorithmic trading, black boxes, dark pools, hidden orders I feel that the individual retail trader is at a growing disadvantage and it only seems to be getting worse.

Transparency is starting to become an issue as regulators seem to be siding with the large financial institutions and are leaving the small retail traders in the dust.

Let me pick the brains of my fellow traders, I'm currently at the crossroads of my trading career.

I've been trading for over four years now. I started with a firm and then decided to go off on my own. I've been able to survive of my profit but have never been able to turn the corner. I'll have months where I'll make $15K-$20-K and then find myself struggling to stay net positive for the next 6 months.

I feel like the odds stacked against the retail daytrader have only been growing since the hay days of the tech booms.

I'm starting to consider leaving the markets. I'm wondering is my dream of being a highly successful daytrader merely a pipedream? I feel as a retail daytrader its an up hill battle. Last few months I've found myself fighting tooth and nail just for some scraps in the marketplace.

Another possibility is to try my had at forex trading? Has any stock trader made this transition? Your thoughts?

Any forex firms that wyou would recommend? Any platforms that you would recommend? I would most likely be scalping in these markets.

Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated.. Thanks for everything

2. Trade futures over forex would be my advice.

3. Darshan

Darshan

Index futures?

4. sorry, yes index futures. Too many roadblocks and changes with stock trading, plus not enough intraday reward consistently. Index futs can be much more lucrative.

5. Darshan

Darshan