Is the crisis really that bad?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by thenmmm, Oct 25, 2010.

1. thenmmm

thenmmm

So...I believe I have some skills and some background in finance...but while recently looking for a job, I sent a resume to like 40 potentials employers and I got 2 replies - asking me to pay them $5000+ in order to get a job? On top of that i offered all these "firms" to work totally free in the beginning for they can test me and then their answer is like: "yeah...you can work for free...but why not pay me some cash - you have money right...with all these terms that you use" - these are the replies i am getting so far, losely translated.

Also...I am looking for a super low pay rate of like $15 hourly...I mean come on - even the slaves in the roman empire weren't asked to pay for their work. Also, here are some of my skills (copy/pasted from a cover letter i've written):

+ I have developed about 30 programs/scripts in C#, Mathematica, PHP and C++ to model different risk and management problems, including but not limited to: Derivatives pricing (options, bonds, swaps, futures, accruals, CMS, CDO, forwards, repos, MBS, CFDs, ASX listed CFDs, CDS, warrants, turbos, FX – others), risk management (kelly criterion, hedging, diversification, var), econometrics (sharpe ratio, sortino ratio, treynor ratio, beta, omega, kurtosis, skewness, variance, standard deviation, moments, CAPM), trading (quantitative analysis, fundamental analysis, pure arbitrage, statistical arbitrage, neural networks, mispricings, high frequency trading, emerging markets).

+ I have devloped about 20 mathematical models, including - an extended version of Black-Scholes using the levy distribution instead of the normal one - which gives much better option pricing results and prediction, extending the kelly criterion from a one dimensional model to a