Is it possible to switch into a career in web development from being self taught?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by bizkitgto, Mar 18, 2019.

1. bizkitgto

bizkitgto

I've see countless blog posts about people claiming to successfully transition into web development careers after learning the basics on their own. There are several bootcamps people have attended, as well as online schools such as Free Code Camp or Udemy, where people that have finished have been able to find decent paying jobs. Is this all BS? I always thought of web dev to be like the bottom of the barrel in the software world. I've thought about giving this a shot, I just don't want to get swindled.

2. Baron

Baron ET Founder

If you master Javascript, HTML, CSS, MySQL, and either PHP or a framework like React, Vue, or Angular, I find it hard to believe that you would have trouble finding work. There's just so much work to do it's ridiculous.

3. bizkitgto

bizkitgto

Thanks for the reply. Did you transition into this field via self studying, or did you get a CS degree?

4. Baron

Baron ET Founder

It's all been self-study for me. The technology changes so fast that traditional universities just haven't been able to keep their curriculums up to date. It's for that reason that we've seen so many new training companies offering online courses for all these newer languages, frameworks and other technologies.

bizkitgto and userque like this.
  5. The OP should consider going the CS route and consider AI over web/software development. The engineering and AI fields are going to have a ball once the robots and spaceships come online.

The human singularity or technology singularity could be as soon as 2029. Good luck to all living carbon based lifeforms.

6. bizkitgto

bizkitgto