Is it possible to net $100K a year

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Dominic, May 24, 2004.

1. Dominic

Dominic

trading equities? I have been trading full time for approx 4 years in the equities with a PDT account, but have taken some losses last year (-$65K on one trade) and cant seem to get my edge back. I was doing approx $15K a month with $100K buying power, but seemed to tire/burn out and then made a huge mistake. I'm sure if you had $10 million in an account netting $100K wouldn't be a problem, but with $100K BP is it possible to net $100K?

I tried the E Minis for a while and got my a$$ handed to me so I have returned to equities. Its almost like I have lost that carefree trading attitude that I once had and have replaced it with fear and almost being too overly protective with capital. I read somewhere that a very successful futures trader netted $500K a year for the last 5 years. If thats about as high as you can go on the futures, then maybe setting a goal of $100K off of the equities is a little too optimistic?

Anyone care to post their REAL p&l for the last year; not a hypo trading program or system. Thanks

2. it can and is and will be done trading NYSE
    find stocks in play, use a great fast system and let it rip
    easy money

3. Ebo

Ebo

Yes!
    It's called discipline.

4. Dominic

Dominic

of traders approx 5 years to really turn profitable? Something like 95% wash out first year.

5. BSAM

BSAM

Bro, how in the heeeellllll did you lose sixty-five thousand dollars on ONE trade? Seriously, please explain, if you care to do so. Just curious and it could help some other trader.

6. EtfTrader

EtfTrader Guest

If you aren't making at least 40%+ off your money consistently every year, then something is wrong - this is not your line of business. Who cares what other people are making. You need to focus on getting the job done, consistently, year over year.

Some food for thought for your $100,000 account:

Compounding