Is it possible to make money from a penny stock worth 10 cents or less?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by codestar, Jun 20, 2019.

1. codestar

codestar

Hi,
    I am new to trading. Currently I only have about 1000 USD to invest in trading. Is there any way I can use this amount to make small profits regularly on a penny stock that costs about 10 cents or less? I am thinking of using mean reversion, but can't figure out how to apply it.

Does any one know of a decent strategy that can be applied here?

Thanks.

2. Snuskpelle

Snuskpelle

In one way (mathematically), the price of a stock is irrelevant. The raw return of a trade is L * (x / X - 1) where X is the original price entered at, x is the final price, and L is the leverage (negative for shorts). The new-to-old price ratio x / X cancels out price as a unit.

In practice, other concerns apply, such as per trade minimum fee and the normally large slippage on penny stocks. With brokers in the US per share fees are quite popular for whatever reason, resulting in potentially huge overhead.

Penny stocks do tend to be more volatile. However, in big companies you often get to use more leverage to compensate for that. What I'm trying to say is, if you do find a strategy which gives you a statistical edge in one or more penny stocks, then by all means use it. However, don't think penny stocks are the only way of achieving large equity swings...

Especially ask yourself, why is the share price of that company 10 cents? Most companies try to keep their stocks higher than that because of various slippage issues (also due to said US brokers per share pricing habits) resulting in low share prices like that making trading difficult.