is it better to pay commissions?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by Evermore2017, Jan 2, 2022.

1. Hi,

Last year I made trades for over 24 million of shares or I made over 3500 trades(stocks only), I used a zero commissions broker, but I am concerned about the speed and reliability of the broker, but at the same time with that volume I do not want to pay too much, as a European Union resident I do not have access to many options(I can't use TD or Etrade), at the moment I am considering IB and Lightspeed.

Any recommendation?

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Feel free to reach out to me to try Lightspeed. I will assist with your paperwork if you email me directly and you can use this promotion. 10K2021 (There will be a 10K2022 version soon) https://www.lightspeed.com/10k-2021/. I expect you will be happy with our offering.

Evermore2017 likes this.
  3. GotherL

GotherL

If you do fast trades/scalps esp lowfloat smallcaps then yes, you should probably look into a commission based broker with superior execution.

I wouldn't go with IB unless you supplement it with DAS trader.

4. 24M shares in only 3500 trades is a HUGE number of shares per trade. Do you consider one "trade" to be one order or do you scale in and out with many orders? If you're really doing 3000+ shares per order then Lightspeed's per-trade commission scheme might actually be good for you. I would be curious how you avoid moving the market with such big orders though. I mean, obviously you aren't trading MOCs or you wouldn't be concerned about execution speed..

I'm also curious, which broker did you use that offers zero commission to EU residents? Everything I've seen with zero commissions always says "US citizens only".

Evermore2017 likes this.
  5. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor