Is Fundamental Analysis Somewhat Useless?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Opulence, Sep 23, 2012.

1. Opulence

Opulence

This is something I've been wondering since I started trading. I remember a guy telling me a while ago, actually a few guys telling me that they didn't bother looking at the Fundamentals because by the time the outsiders find out about it, that information has already shown up in the prices. I see what they mean because every time some fundamental news is reported, its always after the fact. Don't get me wrong, I fully understand that government reports, political events, natural disasters, etc. can move a market and blow through a T/A system.

What do you all think? What's the consensus on this subject?

P.S: Trolls, get a life.

2. TA works. TA doesn't work. Indicators work. Indicators don't work. Fundamentals are great. Fundamentals are useless.

Like anything else it depends on the skill and knowledge of the trader. I trade intraday off very short term charts and use fundamentals, but that's mostly because one of my colleagues is an ace at using it to identify changes in market pressure.

3. It is as useless as the person using it.

4. Fundamental analysis is useful , unfortunately market is efficient and most of it is priced in.Use it and use 4 hour charts to time entries when the fundamental analysis is correct.Markets can remain irrational longer than fundamental traders can remain solvent.

Example a trader was long 10,000 ounces gold based on fundamentals at $330 , eventually he sold out at $260 at a whooping great loss.

5. themickey

themickey

Trading or investing via fundamentals is similar to trading using discretionary methods.
    You'll get it right some of the time and wrong most often the time.
    The brain can only handle a certain amount of info and your memory needs to be very sharp.