Is backtesting simply simulated trades on historic data?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by entrade, Jul 7, 2018.

1. entrade

entrade

Apologies for the naive question. I'm a programmer and have some historic data and a strategy I'd like to vet. I realize there are many nuances to backtesting, mainly centered around the various biases. However I'm wondering if backtesting, at its essence, is simply running historic data through the algo, recording the trading decisions, and then gathering results.

Again, I realize this is a vast simplification, I'm really trying to get a basic intuition for backtesting in general.

Any help is appreciated.

Last edited: Jul 7, 2018
  2. Jgills

Jgills

Yes. Happy to answer pm if you have more questions too

3. cvds16

cvds16

you might want to save some data after you done your backtesting and finetuned your strategy to run your strategy on to further test if things hold up ...

4. Simples

Simples

That's what backtesting is, attempting to calculate various results from running your strategy on past data, either manually or using some automation. As you've said, there are many biases to overcome, and in the end, backtesting won't actually foretell the future so will only indicate various performance characteristics. Purposefully doing alot of backtesting may provide new insights and learning more about what you're building, food for later rework.