Is an Entity Necessary to Set Up a 401(k)?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by HotTip, Mar 21, 2007.

1. HotTip

HotTip

According to the Green Trader Tax (www.greencompany.com), an entity (e.g., SMLLC) is necessary in order to establish a 401(k) for myself. Can anyone confirm that this is in fact true?

I'm not sure if this is necessarily the case. As a sole proprietor with trader tax status, I can transfer a portion of my gains to my Schedule C to offset business expenses. In prior years I stated in the footnotes that since I'm a trader I don't have to pay SE taxes on the Schedule C profits, but that prevented me from setting up a 401(k). So, by that logic, can't I just remove that statement from my footnotes and pay the SE taxes on my Schedule C profits, which would then open the door for me to set up a 401(k) for myself? Seems like a much simpler solution than having to set up an actual entity.

Any accounting experts know the answer? Thanks!

2. gnome

gnome

To have a 401(k) account, you must be the employee of a corporation.

Look into IRA, SEP IRA if you file a Schedule C.

3. HotTip

HotTip