Is AMP futures a good option for UK trader?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by Brovashift, Jul 10, 2019.

1. Hi all,

I've done all my paper trading using amp (MT5, CQG Desktop) and really like their setup and online support. But now I am ready to fund an account and need to be sure amp is the way to go.

I am based in the UK and so my first thoughts are what if; latency issues, slippage/fill speeds, etc? Is there protection for non US traders by a regulatory body, like the FCA in the UK?
    I am focussed on Crude and wouldn't say I'm an aggressive trader, but still have to be prepared for volatility, especially in the commodity markets.

Is there anyone else in the UK, or outside the US with experience of using AMP futures?
    Paper trading everything ran sweet... going live is a whole new ball game!

Thanks

2. Turveyd

Turveyd

No idea on AMP futures, but you realised UK based firms lowered Oil ( all indexs don't trade oil so ?? ) to 20:1 margin, I get 200:1 Margin via ICMarkets.com Australian based and they've been fine for 6months or so I've been using them, MT5 support aswell.

10x's the amount in my account to trade the same amount, doesn't work for me.

3. MattZ

MattZ Sponsor

But you are comparing a CFD market with a Futures Market. The spread is higher, and all the ASIC based firms now are moving their euro-based customers to offshore. They will no longer be in Australia.

CaseyB likes this.
  4. MattZ

MattZ Sponsor

When you choose to do business on US soil, customers are under NFA and CFTC just like any other US customers. But issues you mentioned could be a result of the internet, your computer, speed of execution, etc are also a result of your infrastructure. As far as CQG/MT5, they will be sent to the USA exchanges via Direct Market Access. However on demos, you are always filled, and this is not the case with real live accounts.

CaseyB likes this.
  5. Thanks Matt,