Iron Condors Set Up Rules

Discussion in 'Options' started by Kpetrey, Oct 17, 2009.

1. Kpetrey

Kpetrey

Now before you'll go tearing into me, I am fairly new to IC's and am paper trading. I basically follow Dan Sheridans rules for IC's and attended an 8 hr seminar of his 1 month ago. Please feel free to correct , critisize, or add anything , not only for me but for anyone else learning

Rules to enter low prob. IC's on RUT and SPX only

1. Fiqure out Standard Deviations for that day(1 to 1 1/2 out)
    2. Put on 25-35 days out
    3. Short strikes 16-17 deltas
    4. .50 to .60 credit(each side)

When to Adjust

1. When deltas go up 13 pts to 30
    2. If 10 pts from short strike
    3. If increase vol. goes up 20 to 25%
    4. If the IC is up 12% or down 5% in P/L

How to adjust

1. take off IC , wait 1 ,day ,and roll up or down , in 1 st 10 days (if in trouble)
    increase 50% (for example -10 500 Nov puts to -15 500 Nov puts
    2. Buy a put or call for every 10 . Buy the put or call, 1 month out, 30 to 40 pts out and cut delta by 2/3 , but don't cut theta more than 50%. The put or call should not cost more than 5% of Prem.

High Prob IC in RUT or SPX

Rules to enter

1. Same rules as in Low Prob IC , but put on IC's with deltas of 7 or 8

2. 50-55 days out

When to adjust

1.If deltas go to 20 to 22

2. 10 pts from short strike

3 if IC is up 12% or down 5%
    in P/L

How to adjust

1.If over 25 days , take off IC , wait 1 day ,and Roll(adjust)(as above in low prob.)

2. If less, buy a put or call 30 to 40 points out . Cut delta 50% and theta no more than 50%. The put should cost no more than 5% of prem.

Misc.

1.Use the take off IC and roll method more in a trending market and put or calls in a choppy market

2. take off IC's before expiration week

3. If Vix is above 30 buy a Put , 1 month out , 30 or 40 points out for protection

2. JC_smith

JC_smith

Well I trade IC's and I definately don't go to that extreme - It sounds way cool don't get me wrong.