Iron Condor for the newbie

Discussion in 'Options' started by nx109, May 21, 2012.

1. nx109

nx109

Hello ET,

I'm new to all this but I've been reading about options and now I need to interact and ask some questions since it's getting pretty complicated.

Long Iron Condors create a net credit (at least they should), but I'm not clear on a few points. This means that the options I sell are more expensive than the once I buy, thus depositing $ in my account. However, if I let all 4 of the legs expire, that means that this cash will stay in my account with 100% certainty.

Is this correct?

From what I was reading, the authors somehow seem to explain that this cash (credit) will only stay in my account if the price finishes in the price range designated by the options combo, but I don't see how that could be true, so please, by answering the above question you'll clear things up for me.

If it is correct, that means that the only "threat" after selling options is that you get a margin call in case you have too many positions and they are all negative at the exact same time, right? If you never get the margin call, you have safely earned that money, right?

Cheers

2. nx109

nx109

To simplify the question:

Let's say I have a Bear Credit Spread (Bear Call Spread). Now, first my account gets net credit, and then I wait for expiration. If at expiration, the price is higher than the mid-point, that means if I closed the position, I would be at a net loss.

However, if I let my Short Call expire OTM, it is worthless so I loose nothing, while, at the same time my Long Call is ITM and that would mean - I'm net positive?

That's almost like 0% risk free money. What am I missing here, somebody please explain.

Thanks.

3. An iron condor is selling an OTM call spread and an OTM put spread. To answer your question I'll just focus on the call side.

Example:
    - Stock is at $100.
    - You sell a 105 call and buy a 110 call.
    - You receive a credit (let's say $2).