Iron Condor Adjustment Please help!

Discussion in 'Options' started by res321, Feb 22, 2014.

1. res321

res321

Hi All- I am new to options trading and in my enthusiasm placed a Iron Condor trade and am hoping someone can clarify a few things.

1. When closing an iron condor before expiration date, why would I be required to put additional margin? So, if I want to book losses early and close the entire trade its asking me to put up more in margin. Why?

2. I placed following trade:

AAPL FebWk4 522.5/525 Put 562.5/565 Call

AAPL is almost touching the short put of 525. Currently AAPL is at 525.25. With only 5 days left, what options do I have besides "hoping for best".

3. What happens if aapl does go a lot lower, or at least midway between the short and long put, can I be assigned for the short put. How would that work out in terms of mechanism and profit and loss. This is a huge learning curve, ofcourse for a buy and hold investor.

The problem is that if I try to exit the entire trade or even try to roll the put spread out to lower price by same Febwk4, it asks for a huge margin that I cannot cover at the moment. I thought about buying a long put but unsure if its the best option. Hoping to get some guidance over the weekend so I know what to do by Monday. Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom.

Res.

2. xandman

xandman

Closing any position will release margin.

Don't just hope for the best. IC's become increasingly risky when you are closer to expiration. Probably, one of those wings will have no hedging value as it is.

3. FXforex

FXforex

Close the position in this order:

1. Buy to close the short 525.00 put.
    2. Sell to close the long 522.50 put.
    3. Let the calls expire worthless.

You require more margin if you try and close the long position first, which I assume you are attempting. Selling the 522.50 puts first will give you a naked short position with the 525.00 puts.

4. res321

res321