Investing Journal - T2S

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Took2Summit, Jul 20, 2011.

1. Hello,

I have a portion of my portfolio I would like to track in this journal. This is a somewhat new method for me and I have been trading the method with real dollars for about 3 months now. I will use all real dollar values as a fraction of my actual holdings. I intend to update at least weekly, but hopefully more often if I feel there is something worth posting.

Strategy:
    My main strategy for this journal is going to be holding strong, established companies, with dividends ideally but not required. I will be selling monthly calls on all my holdings and will be swing trading the calls, while holding the investments themselves long-term.

I will not update the value of each holding, instead I will update the calls sold and total portfolio value.

Everytime I close/open a call position I will update here.

Current Portfolio: $23,793 (I started this portion of my portfolio with $20,000)
    MSFT Aug 20 $27
    M Aug 20 $30
    NKE Aug 20 $92.50

2. keyser1

keyser1

How do you generally decide what the strike price on the calls should be?

Do you have a standard rule or does it vary based on the stock?
    And you usually keep these rolling -- sell another just after the prior expires?

I've been considering selling monthly calls on my MSFT stock -- picking a strike price at what I feel is at the top of the range for the month (which for august would probably be the same 27 that you have)

3. Hey yeah I pretty much decide strike price based on what I feel is a fair value of the stock. Obviously all my holdings I expect to increase in value. For instance on the microsoft I thought 27.50 was a possibility after earnings. I sold the 27s for $0.61 which represents a max earning potential of 27.61 on MSFT.