Investing in Bonds

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Don87109, Dec 26, 2005.

1. I am an active options trader that likes to invest a portion of my portfolio in safe marginable investments. Recently I have been dabbling in bonds and have been disappointed in the apparent lack of practical information on this subject. Sure there are lot's of tutorials on the basics, but precious little practical information.

So I thought I would start this thread. Here is a starter question:

High quality corporate bonds seem to only pay a few tenths of a percent more interest than treasuries. Given that treasuries are tax exempt at the state level their effective yield is about the same as these high quality corporate bonds.

I am wondering why anyone would buy these high quality bonds when treasuries seem to be the no-brainer choice (at-least in taxable states).

Am I missing something?

Don

2. gkishot

gkishot

I think it's a good idea to invest a portion of your profits in bonds. I would recommend to invest in closed-end muni funds like vkl, bfk or high yield funds like hyf, dhf, pty.

3. Closed-end bond funds have their own risks and I am not comfortable of my associated knowledge although I suspect your are correct saying they can be good investments.

In general Bond funds, as opposed to individual bonds, have the disadvantage that you cannot hold them to maturity and be guaranteed to get your money back. So depending on interest rate direction, you could have a loss (or profit). With interest rates trending up bond funds seem to be less desirable at the moment.

OTOH, short term bonds bought in the secondary market are less vulnerable to losses because you can hold them to maturity. Of course when buying bonds instead of funds you become responsible for knowing the associated risks and you do not have an expert fund manager doing that for you.