Investing Family / Friends Money

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by FundTimer, Jan 17, 2007.

1. FundTimer

FundTimer

Hey, another Newbie here - enjoyed reading the forums and gaining some valuable information.

Question -
    Would any of you seasoned investors share the pros & cons of managing family / friends money?

I have a couple that want me to invest a portion of their funds and I was curious to what it did to your relationships with them? Also, did it cause you to modify / change your investing patterns?

Thanks!

2. If you trade profitably, the relationship will be enhanced. If you lose your friends' money, you can expect to lose the friendship. If you lose family money, the relationship will become strained. Start small and add money as you become progressively more profitable. It's easy to ask for more money and referrals after you've made money for someone else.

3. There's been a few threads on this topic, so make sure to use the search feature on the site.

Simply - if you value the relationship, leave money out of it. As soon as money is involved, relationships change NO MATTER HOW 'CLOSE' YOU WERE PRIOR.

4. Hi,

I will tell you from first hand experience. It is ok to do as long as the people whose money you are taking are VERY CLEAR of the risks they are taking. I started my career borrowing from my family, only to lose it very quickly. In 1999 I borrowed $30,000 from another family member and wrote him a check nine months later for $600,000. In 2002, I had some friends who had begged to invest with me. I let them invest $25,000 and I lost, right along with the friendship (they even threathed to sue me). I guess like anything in our business........its a risk!

5. jumper

jumper

I've done it in the past and it wasn't worth it. I wouldn't recommend it.