Intraday data

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by calhawk01, Aug 8, 2012.

1. I'm curious to know If I can develop a proprietary method of recording/fetching daily intraday data. I should be able to distribute this data and have copyrights?

Any thoughts?

2. Anyone..

3. Occam

Occam

Maybe I'm being dense, but I don't understand your question. Whose data would you be fetching? And why should you get copyright to it just by fetching it, unless you own the trading venue from which it originates?

If you want to sell data as a service, then my undestanding is that you have to work out a deal with the source of the data, and you would be considered a "reseller" and would have to pay according to some contract. (Although I'm by no means an expert.) The question would best be directed to the source of the data, if that's what you're asking.

4. Read the agreement that you sign everytime you get access to a live feed. You are usually restricted to own use unless otherwise granted permission.

Given some of the eye-watering prices I see for online database access (>$250K), I can see why they restrict how we use the live data we get.

5. I'm talking delayed data, EOD tick data.

So hypothetically speaking if I stand on the street outside of a exchange with a pen and pencil. And write down a constant tick by tick of a stock; in this situation I have not signed any contracts. Will I be able to sell that? Obviously the assumptions in this situation are extreme. But I'm curious to know what you guys thnk.

6. jb514

jb514

That data is free, you can do anything with that. In terms of distributing or selling historical data, I believe there are a couple hoops to jump through. A lot of people do it though; it is not impossible.

7. Not legal advice by any stretch of the imagination, just some common sense thoughts. All relate to CME - Futures, no experience with US stocks.