interpretation of FNM/FRE news

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by scriabinop23, Jul 13, 2008.

1. Any ideas on the opening?

Sounds like the fed is providing short term $$$ without hitting equity, thus destroying the FUD token the rumor-mongers have had. Sounds like nationalization (via share purchases) is not in the cards (since there is nothing about a forced nationalization in this).

2. paden

paden

well, i watched eur/usd, nzd/usd, usd/chf, and usd/jpy, the dollar has performed well since the news.

Of course, the index futures are up as well, but I was placing more trust in the currency market reaction

it certainly is setting up for a short cover monday, but this market has been like a flea on crack, and could just bounce all over the place again.

3. stockholders win, taxpayers lose

4. Decel

Decel

I'm no expert.

Imo it goes up, but does not beat Thursday's highs. If it does it will be a very green day.

And will retrace downwards throughout the day.

5. Cutten

Cutten

I'd presume the stocks open a lot higher, but from there I have no idea since I don't know what steps they are proposing with regard to the equity.

I'm sceptical that they will transfer wealth from the taxpayer to equity holders. That would be pretty much tantamount to Grand Theft Taxpayer, to enrich a few extremely wealthy institutions and individuals - very hard to justify, far more so than the BSC bailout which already raised a lot of hackles. IMO they may do something like get a huge convertible or preferred stock, and that would be *death* for the current common.

So I am gonna read up on the statements & commentary before the pre-open, then probably short FRE/FNM within a few mins of the open. If vol collapses I will probably play it with puts instead.

6. Digs

Digs

If FNM and FRE issue more capital ( just like LEH with there $6bn funds raised at $28, then down to $15) then this dilutes the current shares. This means more shares available, then prices down for FRE and FNM