Interesting Technique for Shorting and Setting Stops

Discussion in 'Trading' started by jaylane777, Apr 17, 2008.

1. I am a technical based trader but here is one instance where I do take a look at the fundamentals of a stock, and here is why:

People who trade based on a chart will buy and sell on price and volume pattern, areas of support and resistance, and technical indicators like stochastics and bollinger bands. However fundies based traders will look for good P/E ratios, growth, etc - the chart doesn’t mean much to them.

Therefore, when a stock breaks support, or has patterns or indicators indicators are bearish, you can safely assume that the technical traders are either selling or shorting the stock. Conversely, when a stock has strong fundamental data, you can safely assume that there are some fundies based investors waiting in the wings for a good price.

So we can generally draw the conclusion that:

A. When a stock has weak fundamentals, and a weak chart, the selling will probably continue.
    B. When a stock has strong fundies, but a weak chart, it will probably be bought on dips, making the stock go up again.

I have used this technique for buying long on dips, selling short, and setting stops and have had good results with it. Basically this is how I use it:

If I am in a long position, and looking for a place to put my stop, I generally look to areas of price support. These are usually in the form of a moving average, trendline, or specific price where the stock has either met with support or resistance in the recent past. I will then look at the fundamentals as a gauge for how far below said support I will look to exit if the trade turns against me.