Interesting Prop Firm

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by InyOutty, Mar 4, 2003.

1. InyOutty

InyOutty

This press release ( http://biz.yahoo.com/prnews/030226/phw013_1.html ) was on Yahoo. I looked up the firm on ET but all I could find about it was a brief reference on another thread.

The company's rates are really low and being able to send and automate orders directly from Neovest would be kinda nifty too. Has anyone ever used IOG?

2. Looks kind of very doubtful. I did not find any trace of this firm on NASD site. I would not open retail account with a non SIPC member, would you ?

3. The firms name is EMG not IOG - Principals of the firm were
    formerly employed at ETG (but now offer much lower commissions)
    From my perspective, what they are doing is very interesting
    and can be very profitable. As a former ETG trader myself, these people are solid.

4. JayS

JayS

The firms name is EGM not EMG. :)

5. I sent them email asking for more info will see what they offer.

6. This is from their site. Not bad !!! :D

EGM does not solicit retail customers nor warrant the currency of any information appearing on this site.

7. From what I have read, EGM is a member of the pacific stock exchange and have proprietary traders. Therefore, inorder to have extended margin, you cannot be a SIPC. I am trading at a prop firm and they and others out there are not SIPC either. My understanding is that only if a firm has customers, then they would need to be NASD, and require you to take more than a 7, and can be SIPC in a retail account.