Interest Earnings on Collar - Minor Risk, but Major Reward

Discussion in 'Options' started by jones247, Mar 11, 2008.

1. I'm not sure if this technique is better suited in the forex forum or the options forum. Nonetheless, here it is... putting on a long options collar with the gbpjpy or any currency pair that pays a substantial swap interest. You won't make any money if the market goes up (due to shorting the call) and you won't lose if the market goes down (due to going long on the put). However, the daily swap interest on a leveraged account (100:1) can feasibly yield 10%+ per month on the invested capital.

Typically, a put is more costly than the call; however, there are ways to easily mitigate the difference.

Any thoughts...

Walt

2. I'm no expert on currency markets, but don't you only eliminate the directional profit and loss if your "collar" has both options at the same strike? And doesn't that make your position a long plus a synthetic short?

3. Exactly, as a long & synthetic short they'll offset each other. The key is to earn daily swap interest on the long.

Walt

4. What I understand you are proposing is a conversion (long pair, and short the synthetic). If you do that, then I think you will make no money because what you make on long pair you pay it in the short synthetic which will sell for a discount to take into account interest earned on pair. Did you try placing puts and calls at different strikes? It is late now here and I need to go to bed, so I apologize if I misunderstood what you wrote.

5. MTE

MTE

The interest rate differential is priced into options so I don't see how you could earn anything. Whatever you gain on the underlying you lose on the options.