Interactive Brokers questions

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by shortbleu, Sep 1, 2010.

1. I am a UK resident and I'd like to deposit funds with a broker in GBP and keep my deposit in GBP (even if trade in securities denominated in other currencies, example USD and EUR).

I went on IB's website and I read, the minimum requirement to open an account is: "USD 10,000 (or non-USD equivalent)". They do not say specifically that the account can be opened in GBP

1) Would IB allow a British individual to open an account in GBP?

2) If they do allow me, when I wire the funds in GBP, will they convert the GBP amount into USD? (I'd like to keep the deposit in GBP)

3) If they do allow me to keep the deposit in GBP and if I trade securities denominated in GBP, my profits and losses will also be in GBP (that makes sense and I am sure everyone will agree...).
    What would happen if I trade securities in USD? I understand my profit and losses will be in USD (of course), but what would happen to my deposit if I trade stocks or ETFs denominated in USD (without using margin/leverage)?

Say I have deposited GBP 10,000 in the account (I assumed IB would have let me open the account in GBP) and I buy a stock/ETF denominated in USD for, say USD 3,000 (that's worth about GBP 2,000 equivalent). What will my account balance look like?

Will the deposit show GBP 10,000? Or are IB going to split my balances as GBP 8,000 on one hand, and USD 3,000 worth of stocks/ETF on the other hand?

I am asking because different brokers have different policies.
    For example, the futures broker Rosenthal Collins Group would leave the deposit in GBP whatever the currency traded.
    But the future broker Velocity would partially convert the deposit in USD to cover the investment made in USD and therefore show a split in the balances per currency.

Thanks for your help

2. rwk

rwk

3. Hi RWK and thanks for the prompt reply.