"Intelligent" routing???

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by smoss, Feb 3, 2004.

1. smoss

smoss

I just started trading using TradeStation, and am unable to get a straight answer as to the protocol "intelligent" order routing uses. All my limit orders just seem to show up on level II as CINN, which I guess means they went to Island. Anyone know how it works. Also, is there any benefit (or compromise) using it as opposed to just picking a specific ECN? (there are no additional ECN fees over the base commissions) Anyone know of a book or website that discusses the subtleties of order routing?

2. cwjcntr

cwjcntr

I thought CINN was cincinnatti stock exchange :confused:

I believe some systems will put quotes from ISLD in the L2 screen as CINN, because island routes thru the Cincinnati Stock Ex (as of October 2002, so this could be old)

3. cwjcntr

cwjcntr

duh i just looked at your post again... I do not know how they decide which one to go thru, but I know in CyberTrader you can prioritize your "smart routing" and move up/down MMID's in the level of importance of where you want your orders to go

4. smoss

smoss

So how do you decide which MM or ECN to preference, is there a significant difference in ECN's?

5. Luto

Luto

is usually the best fills. I don't use the intelligent because I get fast fills on ISLD.

6. smoss

smoss

Is that Island to Island only if Island is on the inside bid/offer, or do you always go to Island first, which will then send the order to the NASDAQ if it can't be filled by it's own book?

7. alanm

alanm

Quote from smoss:
    All my limit orders just seem to show up on level II as CINN,

Most "smart" routing logic applies only to marketable orders in determining how to get you the best/fastest/compromise fill. For non-marketable orders, they usually just default to one particular place - hopefully the one with the most action, or with other features (like rebates) that make them desirable.