Integrating Technical, Fundamental, and Psychological Factors

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by BinaryMan, Jul 2, 2008.

1. It's been a couple years since I've been on this forum, and in that time I have seen many things and hopefully gained some wisdom. I would like to share some of my thoughts today. I'm not concerned with being "right", but rather having a more effective perspective of the markets. Perhaps something here can help you in your quest to be a better trader?

1. I started programming and researching automated trading systems, ECNs, etc. when I was 12. I am now 25 and have yet to find a profitable method of daytrading (or raise $30000 to qualify for daytrading, but I run simulations); in testing many strategies and data methodologies I began to see some patterns. I've gotten quite a bit of data from free sources, although I know that other people have huge databases of high-resolution tick data. Disclaimer: Some people make money doing daytrading, but as far as I know most don't. Let's not argue over it; if you're making money doing it, you don't need most of this advice after all.

2. Regarding optimal timeframe, what I have seen is that daytrading in general is too sensitive to transactional costs and noise; the ratio of the net trend vs. the noise is unfavorable here, with too many false starts and market maker manipulation (they have to make money too I guess). There is also risk due to long-term traders overcoming short-term traders (i.e., when actual net market movement in a direction occurs). I hear many complaints about execution problems and related problems, but slipage and execution aren't as important with longer time frames (because the magnitude of the trading range is higher).